Call for Papers

(PDF version)

CONCUR 09, the 20th International Conference on Concurrency Theory, will take place in Bologna, on September 1-4, 2009. The purpose of the CONCUR conferences is to bring together researchers, developers, and students in order to advance the theory of concurrency, and promote its applications.

To celebrate 20 years of CONCUR the conference program will include a special session organized by IFIP WGs 1.8 Concurrency Theory and 2.2 Formal Description of Programming Concepts.

The list of invited speakers at CONCUR 09 is:

Furthermore, there will be the following co-located events:

and the following satellite workshops: Express, ICE, Infinity, MeCBIC, SecCo, SOS, and YR-CONCUR.

The overall event will take place at the University of Bologna on August 31-September 5, 2009.

Topics of Interest:

Submissions are solicited in all areas of semantics, logics, verification and analysis of concurrent systems. The principal topics include (but are not limited to):

  • BASIC MODELS OF CONCURRENCY: such as abstract machines, domain theoretic models, game theoretic models, process algebras, and Petri nets;
  • LOGICS FOR CONCURRENCY: such as modal logics, probabilistic and stochastic logics, temporal logics, and resource logics;
  • MODELS OF SPECIALIZED SYSTEMS: such as biology-inspired systems, circuits, hybrid systems, mobile and collaborative systems, multi-core processors, probabilistic systems, real time systems, service oriented computing, and synchronous systems;
  • VERIFICATION AND ANALYSIS TECHNIQUES FOR CONCURRENT SYSTEMS: such as abstract interpretation, atomicity checking, model checking, race detection, pre-order and equivalence checking, run-time verification, state-space exploration, static analysis, synthesis, testing, theorem proving, and type systems;
  • RELATED PROGRAMMING MODELS: such as distributed, component-based, object-oriented, and web services.

Submission Guidelines:

The CONCUR 2009 conference solicits high quality papers reporting research results and/or experience reports related to the topics mentioned above. All papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted for publication elsewhere. Contributions should be submitted electronically as PDF, using the Springer LNCS style. Papers should not exceed 15 pages in length. If necessary, the paper may be supplemented with a clearly marked appendix, which will be reviewed at the discretion of the program committee. Each paper will undergo a thorough process of review and the conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the LNCS series. Proceedings will be made available at the conference.

Selected papers will be invited to a special issue of the Information and Computation journal.

Moreover, papers relating to distributed computing will be considered for publication on the Springer Distributed Computing journal.

Important Dates:

  • Abstract Submission: April 8, 2009
  • Paper Submission: April 15, 2009
  • Notification: May 25, 2009
  • Final version due: June 10, 2009

Program Committee:

Luca Aceto, Reykjavik University, Iceland
Jos C.M. Baeten, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, The Netherlands
Michele Boreale, University of Florence, Italy
Mario Bravetti, University of Bologna, Italy (co-chair)
Luís Caires, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Philippe Darondeau, INRIA Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique, France
Wan Fokkink, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Cédric Fournet , Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Robert J. van Glabbeek, Kensington Res. Lab., Sydney, Australia
Matthew Hennessy, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Holger Hermanns, Saarland University, Germany
Thomas Hildebrandt, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Jane Hillston, University of Edinburgh, UK
Barbara König, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Francois Laroussinie, Universite Paris Diderot-Paris 7, France
Ugo Montanari , University of Pisa, Italy
Uwe Nestmann, Technische Universitaet Berlin, Germany
Manuel Núñez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Catuscia Palamidessi, Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France
Joachim Parrow, Uppsala University, Sweden
Shaz Qadeer, Microsoft Research, Redmond, USA
Julian Rathke, University of Southampton, UK
Philippe Schnoebelen, Ecole Normale Superieure Cachan, France
Nobuko Yoshida, Imperial College London, UK
Gianluigi Zavattaro, University of Bologna, Italy (co-chair)

Steering Committee:

Roberto Amadio, Universite Paris Diderot, France
Jos Baeten, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Eike Best, Carl von Ossietzky Universitaet Oldenburg, Germany
Kim Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Ugo Montanari, University of Pisa, Italy
Scott Smolka, SUNY at Stony Brook, USA